Governance & Administration

SUNMONTUEWEDTHURFRISAT
      1
28
9101112131415
1617192122
23
     
SUNMONTUEWEDTHURFRISAT

Executive

 

Abraham Abougouche

Principal

Abraham.Abougouche@islamicacademy.ca

Imam Mahmoud Omar

School Imam and
Head of Arabic and Islamic Studies Department

Imam@islamicacademy.ca

Jawdah Jorf

Senior Educational Advisor

Jawdah.Jorf@Islamicacademy.ca

 

 

 

ELEMENTARY

 

 

SECONDARY

Hala Cheikh

Academic Assistant Principal
(Preschool & KG)

Hala.Cheikh@Islamicacademy.ca

Bahja Mahmoud

Secondary Vice Principal
(Grades 7-12)

Bahja.Mahmoud@Islamicacademy.ca

Mariam Abougouche

Academic Assistant Principal 
(Grades 1 to 3)

Mariam.Abougouche@islamicacademy.ca

Tayyaba Zahid

Assistant Principal / Special Needs Coordinator

Tayyaba.Zahid@Islamicacademy.ca

Shameeza Khan

Academic Assistant Principal 

(Grades 4 to 6)

bibi.khan@islamicacademy.ca

Yahia Dalloul

Academic Assistant Principal (Grades 7 to 9)/

Athletic Director

yahia.dalloul@islamicacademy.ca

 

Rania Mohamed

Technology Coordinator

Rania.Mohamed@islamicacademy.ca

 

 

OFFICE ADMIN.

 

 

STUDENT SERVICES

Tahmina Gill

Receptionist

Tahmina.Gill@islamicacademy.ca

Shareefa Bahadur

Director of Student Services / Office Manager

Shareefa.Bahadur@Islamicacademy.ca

Inas Ashqar

Business Manager

Inas.Ashqar@Islamicacademy.ca

Sahar Swaid

Director of Student Affairs

Sahar.Swaid@islamicacademy.ca

Suzan Hasan

Fee Clerk

Suzan.Hasan@Islamicacademy.ca

Montaha Haymour

Arabic and Islamic Studies Coordinator

Montaha.Haymour@Islamicacademy.ca

Assad Jacob

Facility Manager

Facility@islamicacademy.ca

Mariam Al-Sheikh Ali

Librarian

Mariam.Sheikh-Ali@Islamicacademy.ca

Abbas Omer

Manager of Transportation Services

Bus.Driver@islamicacademy.ca

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Message from the Principal

 

 Principle of EIA - Abraham Abougouche

 

Asalaam Aalikum wa Rahmat Allah wa Barakatu

 

In almost every school, each year is always different than the last.  This upcoming year will be no exception for EIA.  As the incoming principal, I am not naïve to the great accomplishments that this school has achieved since its inception 31 years ago.  In that time, many leaders have come and gone, but they have all contributed to get this program to where it is today.  I am humbled to be a part of this ongoing legacy.  Additionally, I am genuinely excited to lead this school alongside my staff.  This talented and passionate team has the potential to not only continue to direct this program into places it has never been before, but also make an everlasting difference in the lives of so many young students.

 

As I look ahead to the upcoming academic year, I have great enthusiasm for a Mission that aspires our school to deliver a high quality education embedded in Islamic values.  My hope and dreams is for our staff to make this Mission a reality.  Yet, to attain a high quality education it must begin by providing our students with an environment rich in high quality teaching and learning.  And to attain high quality teaching and learning, it is integral that this team provides high quality leadership.  This is my number one objective.

 

Over the course of the 2018-2019 academic year, I look forward to working with all stakeholders in a collective effort to set the stage for what is bound to be one of this school’s greatest in its history.  As the days goes by, I encourage you to be open and honest.  I encourage you to bring creative ideas to the table; to challenge the status quo and offer innovative solutions.  Ultimately, I encourage you to help me lead our community jewel into an organization that offers a high quality education embedded in Islamic values! 

 

This year, we will focus on strengthening our program as we look to re-invest in Islamic Studies and conduct, re-organize our leadership structure, re-strategize our literacy approach, re-claim our Jr. High program, and introduce our soon to be launched STEAM education Makers Space.  It is poised to be a great year.  And with the academic results to support our already rich program, I am certain that we will take the necessary strides to live out our Mission and offer our wonderful students a high quality education embedded in Islamic values. 

 

Abraham Abougouche, M. ED

Principal

 

 

 

 

 

Board of Trustees

 

The Board of Trustees is the main governing body of the Edmonton Islamic Academy (EIA), as mandated by the bylaws of the Edmonton Islamic School Society. The EIA Board establishes strategic direction, allocates financial resources, reviews policies, and responds to community needs.

 

 

Representation on the Board

 

All Board members are volunteers who provide service for the benefit of the Academy. As per the constitution, representation on the Board of Trustees is from the Following Entities

 

Canadian Islamic Centre

  • Four Representatives

 

Markaz Ul Islam Society

  • Two Representatives

 

Muslim Community of Edmonton

  • Two Representatives

 

Al-Ameen Islamic Centre

  • One Representative

 

Parent Body

  • Two Representatives

 

Additional non-voting members can be appointed for a one-year term.

 

  

Board Members

 

The Board of Trustees currently consists of the following members

 

Acting Chair

  • Halal Jomha

 

Vice Chair & Secretary

  • Khalid Mouallem

 

Treasurer

  • Tariq Deeb

 

Member

  • Amad Kadri

  • Farida Ahmed

  • Farook Al-Shamali

  • Khalid Tarabain

  • Roula Chahine

  • Walid Zein

  • Walied Moussa

  • Zaki Ahmed

 

 

 

 

Facility

 

The Edmonton Islamic Academy Building is owned by the Arabian Muslim Association (Canadian Islamic Centre) and operated by Edmonton Islamic Academy Society through a rental agreement

 

 

 

 

 

 

School Reports

 

The Edmonton Islamic Academy is pleased to present the Annual Education Results Report of the past school year in combination with the Three-Year Education Plan for the upcoming three school years.

 

AGM 2016 Slides

AERR & Three Year Education Plan (2018-2021)

Annual Education Results Report of the past school year, along with a three-year education plan for upcoming years.

 

Inclusive Education Policy - Safe and Caring Schools

 

 

 

 

Share this page