Governance & Administration

SUNMONTUEWEDTHURFRISAT
     12
3456789
10111213141516
171819202123
242526272830
SUNMONTUEWEDTHURFRISAT

Executive

 

Dr. Mona Nashman-Smith

Principal

Mona.Nashman@islamicacademy.ca

Imam Mahmoud Omar

School Imam and
Head of Arabic and Islamic Studies Department

Imam@islamicacademy.ca

Jawdah Jorf

Senior Educational Advisor

Jawdah.Jorf@Islamicacademy.ca

 

 

 

ELEMENTARY

 

 

SECONDARY

Abraham Abougouche

Elementary Vice Principal
(Preschool-Grade6)

Abraham.Abougouche@islamicacademy.ca

Bahja Mahmoud

Secondary Vice Principal
(Grades 7-12)

Bahja.Mahmoud@Islamicacademy.ca

Hala Cheikh

Elementary Assistant Principal
(Preschool-Grade 2)

Hala.Cheikh@Islamicacademy.ca

Tayyaba Zahid

Secondary Assistant Principal
(Grades 7-9)

Tayyaba.Zahid@Islamicacademy.ca

Shameeza Khan

Elementary Academic Coordinator

bibi.khan@islamicacademy.ca

Rania Mohamed

Secondary Academic Coordinator

Rania.Mohamed@islamicacademy.ca

Tahmina Gill

Elementary Executive Assistant

Tahmina.Gill@islamicacademy.ca

Shareefa Bahadur

Secondary Executive Assistant and
Office Manager

Shareefa.Bahadur@Islamicacademy.ca

 

 

OFFICE ADMIN.

 

 

STUDENT SERVICES

Inas Ashqar

Business Manager

Inas.Ashqar@Islamicacademy.ca

Ibrahim Long

Director of Islamic Studies and
Muslim Chaplain

Ibrahim.Long@Islamicacademy.ca

Suzan Hasan

Administration Office Receptionist

Suzan.Hasan@Islamicacademy.ca

Sahar Swaid

Student Services Coordinator

Sahar.Swaid@islamicacademy.ca

Assad Jacob

Facility Manager

Facility@islamicacademy.ca

Mariam Al-Sheikh Ali

Librarian

Mariam.Sheikh-Ali@Islamicacademy.ca

Abbas Omer

Manager of Transportation Services

Bus.Driver@islamicacademy.ca

Margaret Vande Kraats

High School Librarian

Margaret.VandeKraats@islamicacademy.ca

 

 

 

 

 

Message from the Principal

 

 

 

As Salamu Alaikum

 

Allah’s first directive to the Prophet Muhammed (PBUH) to ‘Iqraa’ or read reflects the importance of education for each Muslim and the purpose of the Edmonton Islamic Academy (EIA). An EIA education is about the heart as well as the mind. The two are inseparable and are important to live an Islamic way of life. At the core of EIA’s curriculum offerings as an Islamic Academy is the Islamic and Quran studies programs. In addition, Arabic language is taught to enrich each student’s overall educational experience and all students participate in afternoon prayers, a spiritual time for reflection and devotion.

 

At EIA we know that learning must be meaningful, engaging, and purposeful. EIA teachers understand the importance of connecting with their students and respecting each individual’s right to learn at his/her own pace. In fact, respect is non-negotiable at EIA and is an attribute all stakeholders are expected to demonstrate at all times.

 

One of the most important aspects of EIA is that it awakens us all to the appreciation and the importance of the many people working together to support these young students in reaching their maximum potential. Volunteers contribute to Trusteeship, fund raising, paired reading programs, educational fieldtrips, and cafeteria services. In addition, a triangular relationship between the teacher, student and parent is the basis of EIA’s commitment to excellence; it is well researched that when the home and school work together, students’ reap the rewards.

 

After 35 years of serving the needs of students attending Edmonton Public Schools and International Schools in Munich, Germany and Muscat, Sultanate of Oman, I am privileged to return to my own community and to provide educational leadership for the students, leadership team, faculty and support staff at EIA. Over the years, I have learnt from outstanding educators and leaders what is worth pursuing in the best interests of students and the development of great organizations.  Creating the conditions needed for our faculty and staff members’ success is what the EIA leadership team continuously works hard to achieve.  As the school leader, I recognize that I have a decisive role in building a positive school culture where people are highly motivated, and that every student needs a champion to contribute to his/her growth. It is my goal that the EIA school culture is built upon Islamic values that embrace responsibility, respect and success for all, and that every student has an advocate.

 

Looking forward, I believe that EIA will be a lighthouse for Islamic education and a role model for the integration of a secular curriculum (provided by Alberta’s Ministry of Education) with a faith based ideology. Inshallah, this website inspires you to look deeper into this amazing institution we call the Edmonton Islamic Academy.

 

Thank you for visiting our website and wanting to learn more about our great school.

 

Mona Nashman-Smith

 

 

 

 

 

Board of Trustees

 

The Board of Trustees is the main governing body of the Edmonton Islamic Academy (EIA), as mandated by the bylaws of the Edmonton Islamic School Society. The EIA Board establishes strategic direction, allocates financial resources, reviews policies, and responds to community needs.

 

 

Representation on the Board

 

All Board members are volunteers who provide service for the benefit of the Academy. As per the constitution, representation on the Board of Trustees is from the Following Entities

 

Canadian Islamic Centre

  • Four Representatives

 

Markaz Ul Islam Society

  • Two Representatives

 

Muslim Community of Edmonton

  • Two Representatives

 

Al-Ameen Islamic Centre

  • One Representative

 

Parent Body

  • Two Representatives

 

Additional non-voting members can be appointed for a one-year term.

 

  

Board Members

 

The Board of Trustees currently consists of the following members

 

Chair

  • Halal Jomha

 

Vice Chair & Secretary

  • Khalid Mouallem

 

Treasurer

  • Tariq Deeb

 

Member

  • Amad Kadri

  • Farida Ahmed

  • Farook Al-Shamali

  • Khalid Tarabain

  • Roula Chahine

  • Walid Zein

  • Walied Moussa

  • Zaki Ahmed

 

 

 

 

Facility

 

The Edmonton Islamic Academy Building is owned by the Arabian Muslim Association (Canadian Islamic Centre) and operated by Edmonton Islamic Academy Society through a rental agreement

 

 

 

 

 

 

School Reports

 

The Edmonton Islamic Academy is pleased to present the Annual Education Results Report of the past school year in combination with the Three-Year Education Plan for the upcoming three school years.

 

AGM 2016 Slides

AERR & Three Year Education Plan (2017-2020)

Annual Education Results Report of the past school year, along with a three-year education plan for upcoming years.

 

 

 

Share this page